Useful links


White Stick Guide - Tom Lorimer's guide is a compendium of very useful sites at www.whitestick.co.uk

The RNIB Sight Loss - What We Needed to Know doc https://www.rnib.org.uk/sight-loss-what-we-needed-know

RNIB film about registering your sight loss https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4iX_0_SlLOE&feature=youtu.be


Other local organisations (by area) supporting those with sight loss

East Suffolk www.esab.org.uk

Cambridge www.camsight.org.uk

Norfolk www.nnab.org.uk

Southend and Basildon www.basissouthessex.org.uk

Essex www.essexblind.co.uk

Sensing Change (was Suffolk Social Services) www.sensingchange.org.uk/


Local hospitals with eye clinics

West Suffolk Hospital www.wsh.nhs.uk/Services-A-Z/Ophthalmology/Ophthalmology.aspx

Addenbrooke's Hospital www.cuh.nhs.uk/addenbrookes/services/clinical/ophthalmology/ophthalmology_index.html

Ipswich Hospital www.ipswichhospital.nhs.uk/eye/the-eye-clinic.htm


Media and Talking Book Services

St Edmundsbury Newstalk (local) www.stedmundsburynewstalk.org.uk/

Calibre Audio Library www.calibre.org.uk/

RNIB Newsagent (formerly National Talking Newspapers) www.rnib.org.uk/newsagent

Torch Trust (faith based) www.torchtrust.org/

ClearVision (children's talking books) www.clearvisionproject.org/

Infosound www.infosound.org.uk/

Telephones for the Blind www.tftb.org.uk/

BBC In Touch www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b006qxww


Eye Health and Conditions

The Eyecare Trust - an independent source of information on all eye-related issues including a wealth of information on specific eye conditions. www.eyecaretrust.org.uk/index.php

Moorfields Eye Hospital - the major eye hospital in the UK. Details of a variety of eye conditions and possible treatments. www.moorfields.nhs.uk/

A-Z of Eye Conditions (RNIB) www.rnib.org.uk/eye-health/eye-conditions

RP Fighting Blindness (formerly the British Retinitis Pigmentosa Society) www.rpfightingblindness.org.uk/home.php?home=yes

Nystagmus Network http://nystagmusnetwork.org/

Retinopathy - Diabetes UK (important information for all diabetics) www.diabetes.org.uk/guide-to-diabetes/complications/retinopathy
Esme's Umbrella - Charles Bonnet Syndrome www.charlesbonnetsyndrome.uk/


National Sight Loss Organisations

RNIB www.rnib.org.uk/

Guide Dogs for the Blind www.guidedogs.org.uk/

The Macular Society www.macularsociety.org/

Royal Society for Blind Children www.rsbc.org.uk/

The Deaf Blind Association https://deafblind.org.uk/


Armed Forces Organisations

Blind Veterans UK www.blindveterans.org.uk/

Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen and Families Association (SSAFA) www.ssafa.org.uk/

The British Legion www.britishlegion.org.uk/


Other Organisations

The Stroke Association www.stroke.org.uk/

Age UK www.ageuk.org.uk/

Suffolk Constabulary www.suffolk.police.uk/

DisabledGo www.disabledgo.com/

Suffolk on Board (Suffolk passenger transport) www.suffolkonboard.com/


Educational

Royal National College for the Blind www.rnc.ac.uk/